Eight Ambassador Artists Revealed

Eight Ambassador Artists Revealed

8 Artists, 8 Municipalities
Expressions of Our Municipalities: 2019-2020

Alfred (Ontario), December 19, 2019 — Last Wednesday, December 18, at the United Counties of Prescott and Russell Council Chambers, The Conseil des arts Prescott-Russell Arts Council (CAPRAC), in collaboration with the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR), launched a new project titled Expressions of Our Municipalities to promote the artists of Prescott and Russell and fill the walls of the UCPR Council Chambers with art over a period of one year.

The purpose of this new initiative is to bring together a diversity of artistic expressions from the four corners of our territory in an annual exhibition that will showcase one artist ambassador from each of our municipalities to celebrate our shared community and regional identity.

To do so, the UCPR have invested in a new professional hanging system to exhibit the works of artists and support the artistic expressions of our region.
“We are very happy to open our doors and offer our walls to the beauty of artworks created by our local artists. This project is a great way for us to show our support to the artists of our region,” expressed Mr. Robert Kirby, UCPR Warden and Mayor of East Hawkesbury.

In October, a public call to artists was launched to find 8 artists and 8 artworks that would represent their municipalities for the 2019-2020 year. A selection committee was mandated to choose the artworks from those submitted.

“We are very proud to be able to contribute to the characterization and identity of our region. This is a great example of the convergence of planning and art. These artworks will serve as new windows in the Council Chambers,” affirmed Éric Charlebois, CAPRAC President.

Below is a list of the 8 artists chosen as ambassadors for the 2019-2020 exhibition:

Russell Township: Gisèle Savard-Lalonde
Casselman Municipality: Monique Bergevin
The Nation Municipality: Nathalie Frenière
Alfred and Plantagenet Township: Marianne Dicaire
City of Clarence-Rockland: Christine Lenoir-Godin
Champlain Township: Joyce Pihl
Town of Hawkesbury: Susan Cornthwaite-Grenier
Township of East Hawkesbury: Rita Iriarte

Eight Ambassador Artists