Township of Champlain Welcomes its Newly Elected Council

Township of Champlain, November 17, 2022 – The Township of Champlain’s newly elected Council held its inaugural meeting Tuesday, November 15 at the Council Chambers of Champlain Township. Mayor and Councillors took their declaration of office and were formally sworn in for the 2022-2026 term by the Municipal Clerk.

Champlain’s 2022-2026 Municipal Council will see Mayor Normand Riopel return for his second term, alongside five incumbent Councillors and three new members in Wards two and three:

  • Ward 1, Vankleek Hill – Peter Barton
  • Ward 1, Vankleek Hill – Paul Emile Duval
  • Ward 2, L’Orignal– Michel Lalonde
  • Ward 2, L’Orignal – André Roy
  • Ward 3, Longueuil – Paul Burroughs
  • Ward 3, Longueuil – Ginette Clément
  • Ward 4, West Hawkesbury – Sarah Bigelow
  • Ward 4, West Hawkesbury – Gérard Miner

In his address, Mayor Riopel extended his congratulations to his colleagues of the next four years for their campaign and their election victory. He also took the time to thank the candidates Éric Boivin, Serge Ravary and Denis Welden for their efforts and taking part in the municipal election process. He also took the opportunity to thank his colleagues of the past years:

“I would like to recognize former Councillors Troy Carkner, Violaine Tittley and the late Jacques Lacelle whose contributions were important to this Council. Thank you for your service to the community and it has been an honour to serve this last term with you. As always, thank you to the staff of the municipality of Champlain, the volunteer firefighters who protect our community every minute of the day and a special thank you to all our volunteers who greatly contribute to the community and our quality of life.”

Mayor Riopel ended his speech by thanking the residents for electing him and expressed his honour and appreciation for their continued support and trust.

Inaugural Ceremony can be viewed below or on Youtube. Members of Council will be in office from November 15, 2022 to November 14, 2026. The next regular Council meeting is scheduled for December 8, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber at Town Hall.

 Picture 1 - Mayor Normand Riopel

Picture 2 - Senior Staff and Council (from left to right): Jacques Gauthier, Chief Building Official; Sebastien Levesque, Director of Public Works; Peter Barton, Councillor Ward 1; Karen Hunter, Deputy-Treasurer; Michel Lalonde, Councillor Ward 2; Sarah Bigelow, Councillor Ward 4; Zoe Fortin-Larocque, Communication Specialist; Gerry Miner, Councillor Ward 4; Paul Emile Duval, Councillor Ward 1; Jennifer Laforest, Senior Planner; Kevin Tessier, Treasurer and Acting Chief Administrative Officer; Normand Riopel, Mayor; Ginette Clément, Councillor Ward 3; Alison Collard, Clerk; André Roy, Councillor Ward 2; Paul Burroughs, Councillor Ward 3; Cynthia Martin, CEO Champlain Library; Karla Barton, Deputy-Clerk; Ghislain Pigeon, Director of Fire Services; Lisa Burroughs, Director of Parks and Recreation.

Mayor Normand Riopel
Staff and Council