Elections 2022

2022 Election Township of Champlain

The Township of Champlain's next municipal election will be held on Monday, October 24, 2022.

The elections will be conducted for a term of office commencing November 15, 2022 and ending November 14, 2026. You will find information for candidates and voters on this page.

On this page

  1. 2022 Municipal and School Board Elections Results
  2. Elections 2022 Financial Statements

2022 Municipal and School Board Elections Results

Notice is hereby given to the Municipal Electors of the Township of Champlain that during the period commencing May 2, 2022, and completed on Nomination Day, August 19, 2022, the following persons filed all necessary papers, declarations and fees and as Clerk, I am satisfied that such persons are qualified and that their Nominations satisfy the requirements of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, as amended. I have, therefore, certified such candidates for the office which follows their respective name.

Elected by Acclamation: At the close of nominations, the number of certified candidates for an office is the same than the number to be elected.

These results have been certified by the Municipal Clerk on October 25, 2022.

  • Pursuant to Section 35 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, the Clerk has certified the nominations of the candidates on August 22, 2022 . As such, the following candidates have been certified for the 2022 municipal elections.
  • Pursuant to Section 37 of the Municipal Elections Act, 1996, the Clerk has signed the Declaration of Acclamation to Office for five certified candidates for the 2022 municipal and school board elections.
  • Pursuant to Section 55(4) a) the Clerk has declared the following candidate or candidates elected as a result of the Municipal Election held October 24, 2022:
NameNumber of Votes
Normand Riopel Acclaimed
Councillor for Vankleek Hill
Councillor for Ward 1 - Vankleek Hill
NameNumber of VotesResults
Peter Barton 619 Elected
Paul Emile Duval 636 Elected
Denis Welden 104  
Spoiled 2  
Declined 1  
Total 1362  
Councillor for L'Orignal
Councillor for Ward 2 - L'Orignal 
Name Number of Votes
Michel Lalonde Acclaimed
André Roy Acclaimed
Councillor for Longueuil
Councillor for Ward 3 - Longueuil
Name Number of Votes Results
Éric Boivin 104  
Paul Burroughs 572 Elected
Ginette Clément 369 Elected
 Serge Ravary 351  
Spoiled 3  
Declined 1  
Total 1400  
Councillor for West Hawkesbury
Councillor for Ward 4 - West Hawkesbury
NameNumber of Votes
Sarah Bigelow Acclaimed
Gérard "Gerry" Miner Acclaimed
School Board Trustee
School Board Trustee
NameSchool BoardNumber of Votes
Corina Parisien Upper Canada District School Board (English Public) Acclaimed
Sue Wilson Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario (Catholic Public) Acclaimed
Gilles Fournier Conseil des écoles publiques de l'Est de l'Ontario (French Public) Acclaimed
Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l'est ontarien Trustee
NameNumber of Votes
(East Hawkesbury)
Number of Votes
Number of Votes
André Bonneau 199 533 732  
Sergine Rachelle Bouchard 324 503 827 Elected
Spoiled 24 19 43  
Declined 32 36 68  
Total 579 1091 1670  

Elections 2022 Financial Statements

Certified Candidates for the 2022 Municipal and School Board Election are required to file their initial financial statement and auditor's reports on or before March 31, 2023 (Municipal Elections Act, Section 88.30.). Completed Financial Statements can be consulted upon request made to the Clerk’s office.

Election 2022 Financial Statements
Name Position Maximum  Expenses[1] Total Expenses Date filed
Normand Riopel Mayor $13,867.35 $0.00  2022/11/10
Peter Barton Councillor
Ward 1
$6,235.05   Not filed yet
Paul Emile Duval Councillor
Ward 1
$6,235.05 $729.98 2022/10/28
Denis Welden Councillor
Ward 1
$6,235.05   Not filed yet

Michel Lalonde

Ward 2
$6,512.15 $0.00 2022/12/09
André Roy Councillor
Ward 2
$6,512.15 $0.00 2022/08/22
Eric Boivin Councillor
Ward 3
$6,112.65 $931.44 2022/11/30
Paul Burroughs Councillor
Ward 3
$6,112.65 $3,095.54 2022/11/25
Ginette Clément Councillor
Ward 3
$6,112.65 $3,858.66 2023/02/15
Serge Ravary Councillor
Ward 3
$6,112.65   Not filed yet
Sarah Bigelow Councillor
Ward 4
$7,507.50   Not filed yet
Gérard Miner Councillor
Ward 4
$7,507.50 $95.49 2023/01/10
André Bonneau School Board Trustee (CSDCEO) $8,133.10  $0.00 2023/03/06
Sergine Rachelle Bouchard School Board Trustee (CSDCEO) $8,133.10 $2,721.32  2023/02/07
Céline Lalonde School Board Trustee (CSDCEO) $8,133.10 $0.00  2022/08/26

 [1] Maximum Election Campaign Expenses Permitted + 10% for expressions of appreciation

Contact Us