On-Going Planning Projects

a man drawing a site plan with colors

Find below on-going site-specific applications for draft Plans of Subdivision, Official Plan and Zoning By-law amendments, and others draft plans.


Plan 217 MPLAN 100 - Longueuil  (COLACEM)
SPA-2022-02 | Site Plan Agreement

Status: Under revision

Summary

On January 24, 2017, the Township of Champlain Council received a combined planning report for the Colacem Canada Inc. application for an Official Plan Amendment (OPA) and Zoning Bylaw Amendment (ZBLA). The planning report recommended policy and land use approval. Township of Champlain Council refused the application by Colacem Canada Inc. to amend the Zoning By-Law 2000-75 citing concerns for visual pollution, air pollution, noise pollution, incompatibility of land use and potential loss of property value. On June 14, 2017 the Council of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR) adopted the Official Plan Amendment in favour of Colacem Canada Inc. 

The Township of Champlain’s decision regarding the Zoning Bylaw Amendment was appealed by Colacem Canada Inc.  The UCPR decision to amend Official Plan was appealed by Action Champlain.  The Township of Champlain requested the Official Plan Amendment Appeal and the Zoning Bylaw Amendment Decision Appeal be heard at a consolidated appeal hearing. 

The Appeal was heard by the Local Planning Appeals Tribunal (LPAT) in November 2020.  The Township of Champlain registered as a “Participant” to the hearing and submitted a Participant Statement that was taken into consideration by LPAT.

On April 12, 2021 LPAT-(now the Ontario Land Tribunal)  issued a decision for Case Number PL170756 Colacem Canada Inc.  The order was issued as follows without conditions.  Attached to the decision was the final version of the amending zoning by-law.

  • [255] THE TRIBUNAL ORDERS that the appeal by Action Champlain is dismissed and Amendment No. 30 to the United Counties of Prescott and Russell Official Plan is approved.
  • [256] THE TRIBUNAL ORDERS that the appeal by Colacem is allowed and By-law No. 2000-75 is amended in the manner generally set out in Attachment 1 to this Order.  The Tribunal authorizes the municipal clerk to assign a number to this by-law for record keeping purposes.

The decision of LPAT was appealed to Divisional Court (a branch of the Superior Court of Justice of Ontario) by Action Champlain. Divisional Court refused the appeal on June 30, 2021.

In accordance with the order issued by the Local Planning Appeals Tribunal, the Zoning By-law Amendment for Colacem Canada Inc. is final and has been assigned the following number - By-law 2021-67 and approval date - April 12, 2021.

On September 9, 2021, Council requested the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks (MECP) to rescind its Environmental Compliance Approvals for Colacem Canada Inc and required a new Environmental Impact Assessment based on the combined impact of the Cement Plant and Quarry Operations. Council of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell supported the request of the Township of Champlain to the MECP on October 27, 2021.

On January 6, 2022, Champlain Council received a letter from David Piccini, the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, stating the ministry’s Cornwall Area Office will enforce all the terms and conditions in the Environmental Compliance Approval received in June 2016 to ensure that the Colacem cement plant will be constructed, operated and maintained in accordance with the ECA, but will not conduct a new Environmental Impact Assessment. They argued that the ECA was approved in October 2019 following a thorough technical review of the proposal, which included all technical reports submitted with the application and supporting information, including the combined impact of the cement plant and the adjacent quarry operation. The ECA was issued after the ministry confirmed that the proposal followed ministry procedures to show compliance with all applicable requirements, including air discharge requirements in Ontario Regulation 419/05: Air Pollution – Local Air Quality.

Planning Applications

An Official Plan Amendment (“OPA”) was submitted to the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (“UCPR”) to re-designate the Subject Lands from Rural Policy Area to Trade and Industry Policy Area.  Furthermore, a Zoning By-law Amendment (“ZBA”) was submitted to the Township of Champlain to rezone the Subject Lands from Rural Zone (RU) to Industrial Heavy – Special Exemption Zone (MG-3) and Industrial Heavy – Special Exemption Zone (MG-4) back on June 10, 2016.  The site known as Lot 217, Plan M100, County Road 17, Township of Champlain.

LPAT Hearing

The Official Plan Amendment and Zoning By-law Amendment was subject of a Local Planning Appeal Tribunal (LPAT) hearing in 2020 (PL170756).  On April 12, 2021, the Tribunal decided to approve these by-laws.  The key conclusions of the Tribunal are found in paragraphs 253 and 254 of its decision:

The Tribunal finds that the Planning Applications are consistent with the PPS.  In particular, the Tribunal finds that the Plant has been planned to avoid, wherever possible, adverse effects and, where impossible, has been planned to mitigate and minimize potential adverse effects.

The Tribunal is satisfied that there is substantial evidence supporting the proposition that the Plant has been planned to ensure appropriate land use compatibility and the prevention or mitigation of any potential adverse effects in accordance with provincial standards and requirements.

The lands have been designated “Trade and Industry Policy Area” in the Official Plan of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR) and zoned “Industrial Heavy MG-3 and MG-4” through a site-specific zoning by-law approved by the Tribunal.

Pre-Consultation

A pre-consultation meeting was held on August 18, 2021, to discuss the site plan proposal with Township and UCPR staff and identified the submission requirements for a complete application.

Submission

An application for Site Plan Control was submitted on July 4, 2022 for the development of the Plant. 

Complete Application

In accordance with Planning Act subsection 41 (3.6) the plan and drawings and the information and material provided in support of the Site Plan Control application have been reviewed and the application was deemed complete on July 26, 2022.  These materials include:

  • Completed Application Form and Payment of Fees
  • Parcel Register
  • Stormwater Management Report
  • Survey Plans
  • Site Plan
  • Grading Plan
  • Site Servicing Plan
  • Landscaping Plan
  • Lighting Impact Study
  • Sound and Vibration Study
  • Architectural Elevations

The application has been placed on circulation to internal and external agencies for a 30-day review period.  Following circulation, a list of comments will be provided to the applicant for them to address.  A revised comment due date will be provided once a re-submission is received.  In accordance with Planning Act subsection 41 (12), the municipality has 60 days from the date the submission was deemed complete to approve the plans or drawings (delays in re-submission might affect this timeline).

Contact Us

Projets de développement en cours

main d'un urbanisme qui dessine sur une carte de site

Vous trouverez ci-dessous les demandes en cours concernant des projets de plans de lotissement, des modifications au plan officiel et au règlement de zonage, et d'autres projets d'urbanisme.


Plan 217 MPLAN 100 - Longueuil  (COLACEM)
SPA-2022-02 | Entente de plan d'implantation

Statut: Sous révision

Résumé

Le 24 janvier 2017, le conseil municipal du canton de Champlain a reçu un rapport combiné d'urbanisme pour la demande de modification du plan officiel et du règlement de zonage de Colacem Canada Inc. Le rapport d'urbanisme recommandait l'approbation de la politique et de l'utilisation du sol. Le conseil du canton de Champlain a refusé la demande de Colacem Canada Inc. visant à modifier le règlement de zonage 2000-75 en invoquant des préoccupations relatives à la pollution visuelle, à la pollution atmosphérique, à la pollution sonore, à l'incompatibilité de l'utilisation des terres et à la perte potentielle de la valeur des propriétés. Le 14 juin 2017, le Conseil des Comtés unis de Prescott et Russell (CUPR) a adopté la modification du plan officiel en faveur de Colacem Canada Inc. 

La décision du Canton de Champlain concernant la modification du règlement de zonage a été contestée par Colacem Canada Inc.  La décision des CUPR de modifier le plan officiel a été contestée par Action Champlain.  Le Canton de Champlain a demandé que la révision du plan officiel et l'appel de la décision relative à la modification du règlement de zonage soient entendus lors d'une audience d'appel consolidée. 

La demande d'appel a été entendue par le Tribunal d'appel de l'aménagement local (TAAL) en novembre 2020.  Le canton de Champlain s'est inscrit comme participant  à l'audience et a soumis une déclaration du participant qui a été prise en considération par le TAAL.

Le 12 avril 2021, le TAAL (maintenant le Tribunal ontarien de l’aménagement du territoire) a rendu une décision concernant le cas numéro PL170756 Colacem Canada Inc.  L'ordonnance a été rendue comme suit, sans conditions.  La version finale du règlement de zonage modifié était jointe à la décision.

  • [255] LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE que l'appel interjeté par Action Champlain soit rejeté et que la modification no 30 au plan officiel des Comtés unis de Prescott et Russell soit approuvée.

  • [256] LE TRIBUNAL ORDONNE que l'appel interjeté par Colacem soit accueilli et que le Règlement no 2000-75 soit modifié de la manière généralement décrite à l'annexe 1 de la présente ordonnance. Le Tribunal autorise le greffier municipal à attribuer un numéro à ce règlement à des fins de tenue de dossiers.

Action Champlain a fait appel de la décision du Tribunal auprès de la Cour divisionnaire (une branche de la Cour supérieure de justice de l'Ontario). La Cour divisionnaire a rejeté l'appel le 30 juin 2021.

Conformément à l'ordonnance rendue par le TAAL, la modification du règlement de zonage de Colacem Canada Inc. est définitive et porte le numéro suivant : Règlement 2021-67 et la date d'approbation : 12 avril 2021.

Le 9 septembre 2021, le Conseil a demandé au Ministère de l'Environnement, de la Conservation et des Parcs, de révoquer l’approbation environnementale pour Colacem Canada Inc. et de demander à Colacem Canada Inc. de fournir une nouvelle étude d’impact environnemental basée sur l’ensemble de la cimenterie proposée et les opérations de la carrière. Le 27 octobre 2021, le Conseil des Comtés unis de Prescott et Russell a appuyé la demande du Canton de Champlain présentée au MECP.
Le 6 janvier 2022, le Conseil de Champlain a reçu une lettre de David Piccini, ministre de l'Environnement, de la Conservation et des Parcs, indiquant que le bureau régional de Cornwall du ministère veillera à ce que toutes les conditions de l'approbation de conformité environnementale reçue en juin 2016 soient respectées afin de s'assurer que la cimenterie de Colacem soit construite, exploitée et entretenue conformément à l'ACE, mais ne procédera pas à une nouvelle étude d'impact environnemental. Ils ont expliqué que l'ACE a été approuvée en octobre 2019 après une étude technique approfondie de la proposition, qui comprenait tous les rapports techniques soumis avec la demande et les informations justificatives, y compris les impacts de la cimenterie et de l'exploitation de la carrière adjacente. L'ACE a été émise une fois que le ministère eut confirmé que la proposition respectait les démarches du ministère pour démontrer la conformité aux exigences applicables, y compris les exigences relatives aux émissions atmosphériques du Règlement de l'Ontario 419/05 : Pollution atmosphérique - Qualité de l'air.

Demande de modification au plan officiel

Les Comtés unis de Prescott et Russell (CUPR) ont reçu une demande de modification au Plan officiel cherchant à changer la désignation d'un terrain de « Secteur des politiques rurales » à « Secteur des politiques de commerce et industrie ». Le 10 juin 2016, le Canton de Champlain a également reçu une demande de modification au Règlement de zonage pour le même terrain afin de changer la catégorie de zonage de « Zone rurale (RU) » à « Zone industrie lourde – exception spéciale (MG-3) » et à « Zone industrie lourde – exception spéciale (MG-4) ».  Le terrain est désigné comme étant le lot 217, plan M100, route de comté 17, canton de Champlain.

Tribunal d’appel de l’aménagement local 

Les modifications au Plan officiel et au Règlement de zonage ont fait l'objet d'une audience au Tribunal d'appel de l’aménagement local en 2020 (PL170756). Le 12 avril 2021, le Tribunal a décidé d'approuver ces règlements.  Les conclusions importantes du Tribunal se trouvent aux paragraphes 253 et 254 de leur décision :

Le Tribunal conclut que les demandes en matière d'aménagement du territoire sont conformes à la déclaration de principes provinciale.  En effet, le Tribunal estime que la cimenterie a été pensée de manière à éviter, dans la mesure du possible, tout effet néfaste et que, s'il est impossible de les éliminer complètement, ces effets seront limités et restreints.

Le Tribunal est convaincu qu'il existe des preuves substantielles à l'appui de la proposition selon laquelle la cimenterie a été pensée de manière à assurer une utilisation appropriée des terres et à prévenir ou à atténuer tout effet négatif potentiel, conformément aux normes et aux exigences provinciales.

Les terrains ont été désignés « Secteur des politiques de commerce et industrie » dans[CT1]  le plan officiel des Comtés unis de Prescott et Russell (CUPR) et le zonage a été modifié pour « Zone industrie lourde – exception spéciale (MG-3) et (MG-4) » en vertu d'un règlement de zonage spécifique au site approuvé par le Tribunal.

Rencontre préliminaire

Une rencontre préliminaire a eu lieu le 18 août 2021 avec l'administration du Canton et des CUPR afin de discuter de la proposition du plan d'implantation et d'identifier les exigences de soumission pour une demande officielle.

Soumission

Une demande de réglementation du plan d'implantation a été soumise le 4 juillet 2022 pour le développement de la cimenterie.

Demande dûment complétée

Conformément au paragraphe 41 (3.6) de la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire, le plan et les dessins ainsi que les renseignements et les documents fournis à l'appui de la demande de réglementation du plan d'implantation ont été examinés et la demande a été jugée complète le 26 juillet 2022.  Ces documents comprennent :

  • le formulaire de demande dûment rempli et le paiement des frais
  • Registre des parcelles
  • Rapport de gestion des eaux pluviales
  • Plans d'arpentage
  • Plan du site
  • Plan de nivellement
  • Plan d'approvisionnement
  • Plan d'aménagement paysager
  • Étude sur les impacts de la lumière
  • Étude sur le bruit et les vibrations
  • Élévations architecturales

La demande a circulé auprès des instances internes et externes pour une période de révision de 30 jours.  Après cette période, une liste de commentaires sera fournie au demandeur pour qu'il y réponde.  La date limite de réception des commentaires révisés sera fournie une fois que la demande aura été soumise à nouveau.  Conformément au paragraphe 41 (12) de la Loi sur l'aménagement du territoire, la municipalité dispose de 60 jours à compter de la date à laquelle la soumission a été jugée complète pour approuver les plans ou les dessins (les retards dans la nouvelle soumission peuvent affecter ce délai).

Contactez-nous