Water, Sewer and Municipal Drain

Water drop

On this page:

  1. Billing period and due date
  2. Payment options
  3. Annual water reports
  4. Municipal Drain

Billing Period and Due Date
Billing PeriodDue Date
September 23 - December 22 End of January
December 23 - March 22 End of April
March 23 - June 22 End of July
June 23 - September 22 End of October

Payment Options

We would like to remind you of the various payment options which are available:

  • Pre-authorized payment plan (PAP) 
  • Online payments through your financial institution
  • In person payments at your financial institution
  • At the municipal office at 948 Pleasant Corner Road East by cheque, cash or interac (no credit cards are accepted).  A drop-off depository is also provided for your convenience at the entrance of our building for after hour.

PAP Application Form


Annual Water Report

The Champlain Annual Drinking Water Reports have been prepared to satisfy Section 11 and Schedule 22 of O. Reg. 170/03: Drinking Water Systems Regulation, under the Safe Drinking Water Act, 2002. Each report describes the Champlain Drinking Water Systems, details of the water quality testing results, and any non-compliances and adverse conditions that may have occurred from January 1 to December 31, 2021.

  • L'Orignal drinking water system
  • Laurentian Park drinking water system
  • Vankleek Hill drinking water system

The Champlain Township, in conjunction with the Ontario Clean Water Agency, is committed to providing safe and clean drinking water to all of its citizens and customers, to remain compliant with all regulatory requirements, and to maintain and continually improve its drinking water quality management system. All efforts have been made to ensure that the information presented is accurate and straightforward.

Under the Ontario Drinking Water Systems regulation (0.Reg. 170/03), municipalities who maintain drinking water systems are required to prepare an annual report on the operation of the water system and the quality of its water. Please note that the Annual Regulatory Water Reports for each of these drinking water systems are available to any resident upon request at the township office or send an email to karla.barton@champlain.ca. as the current formats do not meet comply with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level AA, required by the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act.


Municipal Drain

Perhaps you've just purchased property, and been told by your municipality that you are assessed into a municipal drain. Perhaps you have owned a property for a couple of years and have recently discovered that you are located in the watershed of a municipal drain. You're probably wondering, what does this mean? How does it affect me? What will it cost?

Physically, What is a Municipal Drain?

Physically, a municipal drain is simply a drainage system. Most municipal drains are either ditches or closed systems such as pipes or tiles buried in the ground. They can also include structures such as dykes or berms, pumping stations, buffer strips, grassed waterways, storm water detention ponds, culverts and bridges. Even some creeks and small rivers are now considered to be municipal drains. Municipal drains are primarily located in rural agricultural areas of the province.

F.A.Q.

What is the use of a municipal drain?

Most municipal drains were constructed to improve the drainage of agricultural land by serving as the discharge point for private agricultural tile drainage systems. However, they also remove excess water collected by roadside ditches, residential lots, churches, schools, industrial lands, commercial lands and any other properties in rural areas. They are a vital component of the local infrastructure. Without them, many areas of the province would be subjected to regular flooding, reduced production from agricultural land and increased public health risks.

What makes a municipal drain different from other ditch and drain pipes? 

Landowners who need to solve a drainage problem may submit a prescribed petition under the Drainage Act to their local municipality, requesting the establishment of a municipal drain. If certain criteria are met, the municipality appoints an engineer who prepares a report, identifying the proposed solution to the problem and how the costs will be shared. There are various meetings where landowners in the watershed of the municipal drain can voice their desires and concerns. There are also several appeal stages where they can voice their objections. So, the end result of the process is a "communally accepted" project.

After all appeals have been heard and dealt with, the municipality passes a by-law, adopting the engineer's report. The cost of the work is assessed to the lands in the watershed in the same ratios as contained within the engineer's report. So for a ditch or a pipe to be a municipal drain, there must be a by-law adopting an engineer's report.

What is my due diligence regarding this municipal drain?
First of all, before purchasing a rural property, it is important to find out from the municipality or the real estate agent if the property is affected by a municipal drain and in what way.

As an involved landowner, you have a responsibility for the drains located on your property.

Observe them. If you notice any problems, immediately notify the Township. Remove debris from any catch basins that may be located on your property or the adjoining road. This type of ongoing preventative work can reduce the possibility of property damage during storm events.

What should I expect?
The Township must maintain its municipal drains. Therefore, if you have a municipal drain located on your property, you can expect that we will periodically arrange to enter onto your property and perform the necessary work. After it is completed, you will be billed for your share of the cost.

For a period of time while the work is being completed, you can expect the working space along the drain to be accessed by the maintenance equipment and the land to be disrupted to some degree. Because this working space is a form of an easement, you will not be paid for any damages that occur on this land.

Municipalities have the right to accumulate the cost of maintaining a drain for up to five years or $5,000. Therefore, it is possible that you may be billed for work that occurred before you owned a property.

Are there any land restrictions near the drain system?
Along every municipal drain is an unregistered working space that the municipality has the right to use to maintain or repair the drain. Keep this working space accessible and do not plant trees or build structures in this area. If you do, and it results in an obstruction to the maintenance equipment, you may have to pay the cost of removing that obstruction.

Don't store materials such as brush, lumber or other floatable material near the drain, because during storm events, it could float away and block the drain.

Champlain Township is responsible for maintaining municipal drains on behalf of the community of landowners involved in a drain. If you want to install a culvert or bridge on an open ditch municipal drain, or if a municipal drain requires maintenance, don't perform the work yourself; instead notify the Township. If you do unauthorized work on a drain and that work results in damages to the drain or to other landowners, you could be responsible for paying the cost of repairing the damages.

Although they are "man-made", all municipal drains eventually connect with the many beautiful lakes, rivers and streams located in Ontario. Do not direct septic system waste, milkhouse wastes, barnyard and manure storage runoff or other pollutants directly to these drains.

From the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs Fact Sheet, So, what’s a municipal drain?
Little Rideau Creek
Little Rideau Creek

Contact Us

Eau, égouts et drains municipaux

goutte d'eau

Sur cette page:

  1. Période de facturation et date d'échéance
  2. Modes de paiement
  3. Rapports annuels sur la qualité de l'eau potable
  4. Drain municipal

Période de facturation et date d'échéance
Période de facturationDate d'échéance
23 septembre - 22 décembre Fin janvier
23 décembre - 22 mars Fin avril
23 mars - 22 juin Fin juillet
23 juin - 22 septembre fin octobre

Modes de paiement

Voici les différents modes de paiement possible:

  • Programme de paiements préautorisés (PAP)
  • Paiement en ligne sur le site de votre institution financière
  • En personne à votre institution financière
  •  À l'Hôtel de Ville située au 948 Pleasant Corner Est par chèque, argent comptant ou carte débit (les cartes de crédits ne sont pas acceptées). Un service de boîte sécurisée est aussi disponible pour les paiements hors des heures de bureau.

Demande d'application PAP


Rapports annuels sur la qualité de l'eau potable

Les rapports annuels sur les réseaux d'eau potable de Champlain ont été préparés pour répondre aux exigences de l'article 11 et de l'annexe 22 du Règlement sur les réseaux d'eau potable de l'Ontario 170/03, en vertu de la Loi de 2002 sur la salubrité de l'eau potable. Chaque rapport comprend une description des réseaux d'eau potable de Champlain, les résultats détaillés des analyses de la qualité de l'eau, ainsi que les cas de non-conformité et les conditions anormales qui ont pu se produire entre le 1er janvier et le 31 décembre 2021.

  • Système d'eau potable de L'Orignal
  • Système d'eau potable du parc Laurentian
  • Système d'eau potable de Vankleek Hill

 

Le Canton de Champlain, en partenariat avec l'Agence ontarienne des eaux, s'engage à fournir une eau potable saine et propre à tous ses citoyens et clients, à se conformer à toutes les exigences réglementaires et à maintenir et améliorer continuellement son système de gestion de la qualité de l'eau potable. Tous les efforts ont été faits pour s'assurer que les informations présentées sont véridiques et claires.

En vertu du Règlement sur les réseaux d'eau potable de l'Ontario (0.Reg. 170/03), les municipalités qui sont responsables des réseaux d'eau potable sont tenues de préparer un rapport annuel sur le fonctionnement du réseau et la qualité de l'eau. Veuillez noter que les rapports annuels sur les réseaux d'eau potable sont disponibles sur demande à l'hôtel de Ville du Canton ou par courriel à karla.barton@champlain.ca. car les formats disponibles ne sont pas conformes aux lignes directrices sur l'accessibilité du contenu Web (WCAG) 2.0 niveau AA, exigées par la Loi sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario.


 Drain municipal

Vous avez acheté une propriété et la municipalité vous a indiqué que vous deviez contribuer à un drain municipal. Ou bien vous êtes propriétaire depuis quelques années et vous avez récemment découvert que vous vous trouvez dans le bassin versant d'un drain municipal. Vous vous demandez sans doute ce que cela signifie, en quoi cela vous touche et combien cela va vous coûter.

Qu'est-ce qu'un drain municipal?

Un drain municipal est tout simplement un système de drainage. La plupart des drains municipaux sont soit des fossés, soit des réseaux couverts constitués de conduites ou de tuyaux souterrains. Ils peuvent également comporter des structures comme des digues ou des bermes, des stations de pompage, des bandes tampons, des voies gazonnées, des bassins de retenue des eaux pluviales, des ponceaux et des ponts. Certains ruisseaux et certaines petites rivières sont maintenant considérés comme faisant partie de drains municipaux. Les drains municipaux se situent surtout dans les régions rurales agricoles de la province.

F.A.Q.

À quoi ça sert?

La plupart d’entre eux ont été construits pour assurer l’évacuation de l’eau provenant des réseaux agricoles privés de conduites enterrées et améliorer ainsi le drainage des terres agricoles. Ils permettent également d’éliminer l’excès d’eau accumulé dans les fossés qui longent les chemins, sur les propriétés résidentielles et celles qui appartiennent aux églises et aux écoles, sur les terrains industriels et commerciaux et toutes les autres propriétés situées dans les régions rurales. Sans eux, de nombreux secteurs de la province seraient régulièrement inondés, la productivité des terres agricoles y serait réduite et les risques pour la santé publique seraient accrus.

Qu’est-ce qui distingue un drain municipal d’un autre système de fossés et de tuyaux de drainage? 

Les propriétaires fonciers qui sont aux prises avec un problème de drainage peuvent soumettre à leur municipalité locale une pétition sous la forme prescrite par la Loi sur le drainage pour demander la mise en place d’un drain municipal. Sous réserve de certains critères, la municipalité nomme un ingénieur qui rédige un rapport où il définit la solution proposée et le mode de partage des coûts. On tient diverses réunions où les propriétaires de terrains situés dans le bassin versant du drain municipal peuvent faire valoir leurs souhaits et leurs points de vue. Il y a également plusieurs étapes d’appel où ils peuvent exposer leurs objections. Le processus aboutit ainsi à un projet « accepté par la communauté ».

Après avoir entendu et pris en compte tous les appels, la municipalité adopte par règlement le rapport de l’ingénieur, et elle a alors le pouvoir et la responsabilité de construire le drain. Le coût des travaux est imputé aux terrains situés dans le bassin versant selon les prorata indiqués dans le rapport de l’ingénieur. Pour qu’un fossé ou une conduite devienne un drain municipal, il doit donc y avoir un règlement en vertu duquel un rapport d’ingénieur a été adopté.

Quelle est ma responsabilité par rapport à ce drain municipal?

Tout d’abord, avant d’acheter une propriété rurale, il est important de s’informer auprès de la municipalité ou de l’agent immobilier si la propriété est touchée par un drain municipal et de quelle façon.

À titre de propriétaire foncier, vous êtes en partie responsable des drains situés sur votre propriété.

Surveillez-les et signalez immédiatement tout problème à la municipalité. Il est de votre responsabilité d’enlever les débris qui pourraient se trouver dans les bassins collecteurs situés sur votre propriété ou sur le chemin adjacent. Les mesures de prévention de ce type permettent de réduire les risques de dommages à votre propriété en cas de tempête.

À quoi dois-je m’attendre?

Les municipalités doivent entretenir leurs drains. Par conséquent, si un drain municipal traverse votre propriété, les employés de la municipalité pourront demander à y pénétrer périodiquement pour effectuer les travaux qui sont nécessaires, puis on vous facturera votre quote-part des coûts.

Pendant la durée des travaux, il est possible que la présence du matériel d’entretien se retrouve sur votre propriété, adjacente au drain. Comme cet espace constitue une forme de servitude, on ne vous remboursera pas le coût des dommages qui y seront causés.

Les municipalités ont le droit d’accumuler les coûts d’entretien d’un drain pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu’à cinq ans ou jusqu’à concurrence de 5000 $. Par conséquent, il est possible que des travaux ayant été effectués avant que vous n’achetiez la propriété vous soient facturés.

Y a-t-il des restrictions quant à l’espace près du système de drain?

Le long de tous les drains municipaux se trouve un espace de travail implicite où la municipalité a le droit d’accéder pour effectuer les travaux d’entretien ou de réparation. Vous devez maintenir l’accès à cet espace de travail, et donc ne pas y planter d’arbres ni rien y construire. Dans le cas contraire, si le matériel d’entretien ne peut accéder à l’espace de travail, vous pourriez devoir payer le coût d’enlèvement de l’obstacle.

N’entreposez pas de matériaux comme des broussailles, du bois ou d’autres matières flottantes près du drain; en effet, en cas de tempête, ils peuvent être entraînés par l’eau et boucher le drain.

Le Canton de Champlain est responsable de l’entretien des drains municipaux au nom de la communauté des propriétaires fonciers desservis. Si vous souhaitez installer un ponceau ou un pont au-dessus d’un drain municipal constitué d’un fossé ouvert, ou si un drain municipal doit être entretenu, ne faites pas le travail vous-même; communiquez plutôt avec nous. Si vous effectuez des travaux non autorisés sur un drain et que ces travaux endommagent le drain ou d’autres propriétés, vous risquez de devoir payer le coût des réparations correspondantes.

Bien qu’ils soient « artificiels », tous les drains municipaux débouchent dans les nombreux lacs, ruisseaux et rivières qui font la beauté des paysages ontariens. On ne doit pas déverser directement dans ces drains le contenu des fosses septiques, les déchets de laiteries, les écoulements provenant d’aires d’élevage de bétail et de stockage des fumiers, ni aucun autre polluant.

Tiré de la fiche technique du Ministère de l’agriculture, de l’alimentation et des affaires rurales de l’Ontario, Qu’est-ce qu’un drain municipal?.
Ruisseau Little Rideau
Ruisseau Little Rideau

Contactez-nous