Budget and Finance

Calculator

Financial Reports

Every year, an external independent accounting firm audits the Township of Champlain's financial statements and we publish those Annual Financial Statements.  These statements include Audited Financial Statements, as required by the Ontario Municipal Act.  These statements help the Municipality demonstrate responsible management of financial resources through open, transparent, accountable and innovate leadership in local governance.

The Financial Information Return (FIR) is the main data collection tool used by the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing to collect financial and statistical information on Municipalities. The FIR is a standard document comprised of a number of Schedules which are updated each year to comply with current legislation and reporting requirements.

Financial Statements

Year Documents
2020 Financial Statements
2019 Financial Statements
2018 Financial Statements & Public Library Board Financial Statements
2017 Financial Statements
2016 Financial Statements
2015 Financial Statements
2014 Financial Statements

Financial Information Returns (FIR)

Year Documents
2020 Financial Information Return
2019 Financial Information Return
2018 Financial Information Return
2017 Financial Information Return
2016 Financial Information Return 
2015 Financial Information Return
2014 Financial Information Return

Asset Management Plan

The Asset Management Plan helps the Township make the best possible decisions regarding the construction, operation, maintenance, renewal, replacement, expansion and disposal of infrastructure assets while minimizing risk and cost to taxpayers and maximizing service delivery.

Asset Management Plan & Policy

The Township of Champlain’s infrastructure assets are key resources used to provide services to the public. All of these services contribute to the local economy and improve the quality of life for residents. These include:

  • The provision of a safe and efficient road network;
  • Safe drinking water;
  • Environmentally sound wastewater treatment;
  • Effective waste collection and processing;
  • Efficient and safe fire and rescue;
  • Improved facility management.

Asset Management Plan

Strategic Asset Management Policy


Municipal User Fees

Municipal fees and charges are a charge to the user of a specific municipal service, activity or product, or for the use of municipal property.

User Fees

The purpose of a User Fees and Charges is to recover costs incurred as a result of services provided by the municipality. Most services are as a result of an individual or group needs and not beneficial to the community as a whole. Those services are calculated to recovery costs to provide the services. During the annual budget process, these user fees and charges are reviewed and amended accordingly, to ensure that cost recovery is reviewed and achieved on an economy of scale.

2021 User Fees and Charges


Budget

2021 Budget

The Township of Champlain’s 2021 budget has been approved. On January 14, 2021, council voted to accept an investment of $6,078,660 in capital projects and $14,490,820 through the operating budget that provides the day-to-day delivery of services and programs to Champlain residents.

For 2021, the property tax rate is increased by 1.65%.

For a house with a property assessment of $200,000, the increase represents $38.48:

  • $30.28 for the municipal portion (2.5%)
  • $8.20 for United Counties portion (1%).

 “I’m very pleased with the result of the works of our elected representatives and department’s heads, who delivered a budget commensurate with our residents’ ability to pay, while continuing essential infrastructure maintenance,” said Mayor Normand Riopel.

Ms. Paula Knudsen, Chief Administrative Officer, added that the budget approval will allow the Township to complete several projects that will allow the administration to provide a high level of service and to maintain the existing infrastructure while planning for the future.

Highlights of the 2021 Budget

  • Several grants for capital projects for a total of $720,000 (excluding King Street project).
  • Major investment in roads:
    • $2.24 M grant from the federal and provincial governments for the rehabilitation of King Street. The United Counties of Prescott and Russell will fund 50% of some costs. The non-subsidized portion is $830,996.
    • Stephens and St-Denis Streets—$1.34M for surface rehabilitation and water and sewer systems.
    • Sandy Hill Road and Pattee Road fissures sealing—$60,000.
    • New play structure in Miner Park—$75,000.
    • Arena lights change to LED for energy and cost savings—$70,000.
    • New corporative and economic development strategic plans—$69,300.
    • Phase II of the community improvement plan for business owners—$7,500.
    • Community Grants Program—$50,000.

The budget also includes $1,019,296 allocated to debt service payments, which represents a reduction of $44,750. Your municipal budget funds services and programs in diverse sectors such as roads, police department, fire services, social and family services, garbage and recycling collection, parks and recreation programs, snow clearing, planning and economic development.

Full 2021 Budget

Contact Us

Budget et finances

Calculatrice

États financiers

Chaque année, une firme comptable externe indépendante vérifie les états financiers du canton de Champlain et ces états financiers sont publiés annuellement. Ces rapports comprennent les états financiers vérifiés, comme l'exige la Loi sur les municipalités de l'Ontario.  Ces rapports aident la municipalité à démontrer une gestion responsable des ressources financières par un leadership ouvert, transparent, responsable et innovateur en matière de gouvernance locale.

Le rapport d'information financière (RIF) est le principal outil de collecte de données utilisé par le ministère des Affaires municipales et du Logement pour recueillir des informations financières et des statistiques sur les municipalités. Le RIF est un document uniforme composé d'un certain nombre de tableaux qui sont mis à jour chaque année pour se conformer à la législation en vigueur et aux exigences en matière de rapports.

États financiers consolidés

Année Documents
2020 États financiers
2019 États financiers
2018 États financiers et états financiers du C.A. de la bibliothèque publique
2017 États financiers
2016 États financiers
2015 États financiers
2014 États financiers

Rapports d'information financière (RIF)

Année Documents
2020 Rapport d'information financière
2019 Rapport d'information financière
2018 Rapport d'information financière
2017 Rapport d'information financière
2016 Rapport d'information financière (anglais seulement)
2015 Rapport d'information financière (anglais seulement)
2014 Rapport d'information financière (anglais seulement)

Plan de gestion des infrastructures

Le plan de gestion des infrastructures aide le Canton à prendre les meilleures décisions possibles concernant la construction, l'exploitation, l'entretien, le renouvellement, le remplacement, l'agrandissement et l'élimination des infrastructures, tout en minimisant les risques et les coûts pour les contribuables

Plan de gestion des infrastructures et politique

Les infrastructures du canton de Champlain sont des ressources clés utilisées pour fournir des services au public. Tous ces services contribuent à l'économie locale et améliorent la qualité de vie des résidents et résidentes.

Ceux-ci inclus :

  • la mise en place d'un réseau routier sûr et efficace;
  • eau potable saine;
  • traitement des eaux usées respectueux de l'environnement;
  • collecte et traitement efficaces des déchets;
  • incendie et sauvetage efficaces et sûrs;
  • amélioration de la gestion des installations.

Plan de gestion des infrastructures (anglais seulement)

Politique de gestion stratégique des infrastructure (anglais seulement)


Frais d'utilisation municipaux

Les frais et redevances municipaux sont des frais facturés à l'utilisateur d'un service, d'une activité ou d'un produit municipal spécifique, ou pour l'utilisation d'une propriété municipale.

Frais d'utilisation

L'objectif des frais d'utilisation est de récupérer les coûts encourus suite à la prestation de services par la municipalité. Les services rendus répondent aux besoins d'un individu ou d'un groupe et ne profitent pas à l'ensemble de la communauté. Ces frais sont calculés afin de récupérer les coûts liés à la prestation de ces services. Au cours du processus budgétaire annuel, ces frais d'utilisation sont révisés et modifiés en conséquence, afin de s'assurer que le recouvrement des coûts est examiné et réalisé selon des critères économiques.

Frais d'utilisation 2021 (anglais seulement)


Budget

Budget 2021

Un budget 2021 axé sur les routes et le développement économique

Le budget 2021 du Canton de Champlain a été approuvé le 14 janvier 2021. Le Conseil municipal a voté en faveur d’un investissement de 6 078 660 $ en projets capitaux et 14 490 820 $ en budget opérationnel, budget qui assure la prestation quotidienne des services aux résidents de Champlain.

Pour 2021, le taux de la taxe foncière est augmenté de 1,65 %.

Pour une maison dont l’évaluation foncière est de 200 000 $, cette hausse représente 38,48 $ :

  • 30,28 $ pour la portion municipale (2,5 %)
  • 8,20 $ pour la portion des Comtés Unis (1 %)

« Je suis très content des résultats du travail de nos élus et de nos directeurs, qui ont présenté un budget à la mesure de la capacité de paiement de nos résidents, tout en continuant l’entretien essentiel des infrastructures », a déclaré le maire Normand Riopel.

La directrice générale, Mme Paula Knudsen, a pour sa part, complété en expliquant que grâce à l’approbation du budget, plusieurs travaux seront possibles et permettra à l’administration municipale de maintenir le niveau de service et d’entretenir les précieuses infrastructures tout en planifiant l’avenir.

Faits saillants du budget 2021

  • Plusieurs subventions pour des projets capitaux totalisant 720 000 $ (excluant le projet de la rue King) ;
  • Investissements majeurs dans les routes :
    • Subvention provinciale et fédérale de 2,24 M$ pour la réfection de la rue King. Les Comtés Unis de Prescott Russell financeront 50 % d’une portion des coûts. La portion non subventionnée est de 830 996 $ ;
    • Rues Stephens et St-Denis — 1,34 M$ pour la réfection de la surface et le système de l’eau et des égouts ;
    • Scellement des fissures sur les routes Sandy Hill et Pattee – 60 000 $ ;
    • Nouvelle structure de jeux au parc Miner – 75 000 $
    • Changement vers l’éclairage DEL à l’aréna à des fins d’économie d’énergie et de coûts – 70 000 $
    • Nouveaux plans stratégiques corporatif et de développement économique – 69 300 $
    • Phase II du plan d’amélioration communautaire pour les entreprises locales – 7 500 $
    • Programme de subvention communautaire – 50 000 $

Le budget comprend également 1 019 296 $ alloués au remboursement de la dette, ce qui représente une réduction de 44 750 $. Votre budget municipal constitue des dépenses au maintien des services et programmes offerts dans différents secteurs tels que les routes, le service de police, le service des incendies, les services sociaux et familiaux, la collecte des ordures et du recyclage, la programmation récréative et les parcs, le déneigement, l’urbanisme et le développement économique.

Budget 2021 (anglais seulement)

Contactez-nous